Dee Stewart

Dee Stewart is the President and CEO of The Stewart Group, Inc., a Raleigh, North Carolina-based firm specializing in political consulting and public affairs.

Stewart began his career by serving as National Youth Director of the Phil Gramm for President campaign and Field Director of the Robin Hayes for Governor campaign. He subsequently served as Legislative Liaison of the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association and then as Finance Director of the North Carolina Republican Party.

In early 1999, Stewart was named Executive Director of the Republican Party of Iowa (RPI). As Executive Director, he managed and coordinated the 1999 Iowa Straw Poll, which was the best-attended paid political event in American history, drawing over 40,000 Republicans. The event raised over $1 million for RPI, a record amount for any political fundraiser in Iowa’s history. In addition, he oversaw the 2000 Iowa Caucuses, which were attended by more than 88,000 Republicans at 2,131 precincts.

In 2001, Stewart founded The Stewart Group, Inc., which has provided consulting services to dozens of successful campaigns ranging from the Courthouse to the Halls of Congress. Additionally, the firm has consulted on scores of public affairs and public relations accounts, including policy matters at the state, federal, and local levels.

In 2005, Stewart served as Chief of Staff to U.S. Congressman Patrick McHenry of North Carolina. In this capacity, he was charged with hiring and managing staff in the Congressman’s offices on Capitol Hill and in the Congressional District. He also developed and implemented policies and procedures for Congressman McHenry, and is currently the Congressman’s Senior Political Advisor.

Stewart has consulted for many current members of the North Carolina House of Representatives, including: David Lewis, Bill Current, Hugh Blackwell, Stephen LaRoque, George Cleveland, Bert Jones, Jerry Dockham, Phil Shepard, Mark Hilton, Tim Moore, Ruth Samuelson and Bill Brawley.

Stewart has also provided services to these current members of the North Carolina Senate: Brent Jackson, Phil Berger, Harris Blake, Thom Goolsby, Harry Brown, Pete Brunstetter, Louis Pate, Tommy Tucker, Kathy Harrington, Jean Preston, Ralph Hise, Jim Davis and Bill Rabon.

Stewart holds a Bachelor of Arts in Government and a Master of Business Administration from Campbell University in North Carolina. He has appeared on the CBS Evening News, ABC’s World News Tonight, NBC’s Today, CNN’s Inside Politics, MSNBC’s Equal Time, The O’Reilly Factor and C-SPAN.

Contact Dee Stewart at